Greg Gannicott’s Blog


Life Without the Net

Posted in Personal by Greg Gannicott on April 17, 2008
Tags: ,

It’s been years since I’ve been without the Internet at home. During those years I’ve no doubt become dependent on it for things I don’t even realise (just like when there’s a blackout and you run through a list of obscure things you can do to kill the time (that you otherwise wouldn’t bother doing) only to realise you actually require electric to do them).

Well, in the coming days/weeks I’m going to find out. Tomorrow (Friday) we move home and as a result my net access will be gone. Its only now that I’m writing this that I realise I probably should have been building up a small collection of books to help break up the TV viewing.

I also wonder how I’ll come out of it following the ‘net blackout’. In recent weeks and months I’ve almost become addicted to following tech news via sites like techmeme and bloggers such as Mike Arrington, Robert Scoble and Louis Gray. My Google Reader unread items is going to be huge with only my Blackberry to help me dent it. And its only in the past week that posting on the blog has become fun, what with people posting comments and all.

God forbid I may realise that I can actually live without the net. That would certainly free up some time, but it would be a real shame as I think I learn so much by just browsing it.

Anyway, see you on the other side…

Leave a Reply

