Greg Gannicott’s Blog


The ‘Elbow Effect’

Posted in Personal by Greg Gannicott on March 15, 2009
Tags: , , ,

Its that time again! To make it sound dramatic, records are being ‘smashed’ on this blog (today sees its busiest day to date), and its not because I’ve written a clever, insightful technology related post linked to from Techmeme.. Its all because the band Elbow are back on tour.

Back in April of last year I posted a review of an Elbow gig, and a couple days later the set-list for the gig. And every time they tour, those posts get what I consider to be a reasonable number of hits.

Already today, the blog has had 40 new visitors, and during ‘Elbow Touring Season’ it averages around 30 a day. Its not a huge amount, but its much larger than I ever thought would look at this blog.

The set-list post has now received 1,347 hits – that’s more than half the number of visits to this blog. I sometimes wonder whether anyone has stuck around since reading it? Anyone bookmarked me? Added me to your RSS reader? If so, feel free to comment below.

I posted the link partially because I thought it would be useful info for others, but also to see if there was demand for set-lists. At the time, I didn’t know if there were any sites out there dedicated to the task. I thought, if there was demand it might be worth setting up a set-list wiki where people can add setlists to the gigs they’ve been to in order to help others. Given the response to the post, I started putting the plan into action. I got so far, then decided to Google for such a site just in case, and found setlist.fm. As with all the good ideas, someone’s already beaten me to it and done a much better job.

Easy come, easy go.

One Response to 'The ‘Elbow Effect’'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The ‘Elbow Effect’'.

  1. Michael said,

    Thanks for the nice words. Your story is actually very close to the story why setlist.fm was started. It was a R.E.M. setlist though (but with Elbow as supporting act :-)).

    regards,
    Michael

    PS: of course you’re more than welcome to share your setlists on setlist.fm 😉


Leave a Reply

